Posted by: liamcassidy | 2010/06/06

Mannanan, Ree Vannin

We spent one of our recent study sessions learning the vocabulary from this video – we’re looking forward to the sequel! T’eh yindyssagh! It’s chock full of good basic vocabulary for beginning learners – like us!



Listen for these words and phrases:

Kys t’ou? How are you?

Ta mee braew gura mie ayd, as uss hene? I’m fine, thanks, and yourself?

Cha nel mee gaggan. I’m not complaining.

Braew, braew, gura mie ayd. Very well, thanks.

Shoh my charrey … This is my friend …

C’raad t’ou cummal? Where do you live?

Ta mee cummal ayns … I live in …

Ta mee cummal ec … I live at …

Vel oo gobbrachey? Are you working?

Ta mee my haaue nish. I’m retired/out of work now.

Yindyssagh! Wonderful! Brilliant!

C’raad t’ou goll nish? Where are you going now?

Ta mee goll dys … I’m going to …

Cre’n fa? Why?

Ta mee geearree jough. I want a drink.

Vel oo kionnaghey? Are you buying?

Hee’m oo! I’ll be seeing you!

I’ll post a transcript here shortly.

Ta mee goll magh nish. Hee’m shiu!

— Illiam


Leave a comment

Categories